Ships on: July 23, 2024

WE ARE is a masterfully constructed and visionary album that represents a completely new sonic chapter for Jon Batiste and a new direction for music culture as a whole. Writing, traveling, painting - all while inviting some of the most esteemed creative minds to assist in birthing the album - he reached the finish line smack in the middle of the first wave of the worldwide pandemic and volatile social unrest. At the end, a masterpiece of Black Pop Music characterized by the consciousness of Marvin Gaye, the grounded optimism of Stevie Wonder, the iconoclasm of Thelonious Monk and the swagger of Mannie Fresh was born. On March 19th, 2021, Jon will present a captivating musical experience to the world rooted in catharsis, joy, freedom, contemplation and sensuality. It’s a love letter to his southern roots and the heritage of Black Music with guest appearances by Mavis Staples, Quincy Jones, Zadie Smith, PJ Morton, Trombone Shorty, St Augustine Marching 100, his father Michael Batiste, grandfather David Gauthier and many more. It is a meditation steeped in the sounds of the times with collaborators including POMO (Anderson.Paak), Ricky Reed (Lizzo), Jahaan Sweet (Drake, Eminem) and others.


1. WE ARE feat. St. Augustine High School Marching 100, David Gauthier, Gospel Soul Children, Craig Adams, Braedon Gautier, Brennan Gautier, Autumn Rowe (4:25)
2. TELL THE TRUTH (3:21)
3. CRY (3:57)
4. I NEED YOU (2:37)
6. BOY HOOD feat. PJ Morton, Trombone Shorty (4:26)
7. MOVEMENT 11’ (2:02)
8. ADULTHOOD feat. Hot 8 Brass Band (3:42)
9. MAVIS (0:20)
10. FREEDOM (2:58)
11. SHOW ME THE WAY feat. Zadie Smith (3:40)
12. SING (3:07)
13. UNTIL (1:02)